APD Profile

Animation Production Days (APD) is the most important co-production and financing market for animation in Germany. It brings together co-production, financing and distribution partners for animation projects in efficient one-to-one meetings and offers focused debates and lectures on current challenges of the industry with the APD Conference.

Who can participate

  • Producers with a fresh, innovative project for which they are looking for co-production partners and investors
  • Production companies and studios looking for projects in which they can participate
  • VRepresentatives of broadcasters, SVOD platforms, distributors, publishers and investors looking for innovative animation projects
  • National and international funding institutions for film, television and digital media
  • Young talents who would like to apply for the APD Talent Programme

Which projects can be submitted?

  • Animation projects from the areas of feature film, series, TV specials, game, mobile content, cross- and transmedia
  • Short film projects, if they can be further developed into other formats
  • Hybrid formats (mix of live action and animated film)
  • in concept and development stage
  • suitable and open for international co-productions
  • with potential for brand development

From the submitted projects, the jury will select approximately 50 animation projects to participate in APD.

APD is a curated business platform for the European and international animation industry with approximately 170 participants each year. Animation producers from over 20 countries present their projects from the fields of film, TV series, games and cross-media to potential co-production partners and investors in pre-planned one-on-one meetings. Each year, around 50 projects are selected from a growing number of submissions for presentation at APD, many of which are still at an early stage of development. Eight of the selected projects are chosen as part of the APD Talent Programme, which gives European newcomers the opportunity to present their projects in a professional environment.

In the carefully planned one-to-one meetings, the producers can evaluate the market potential of their projects and find potential partners for further development. In addition to production companies and studios, around 60 representatives of European broadcasters and SVOD providers, distributors and funding institutions take part in APD each year. They appreciate the opportunity to discover high-quality and commercially promising as well as particularly innovative projects and talents. APD thus offers an excellent starting point for initiating international co-productions.

The APD Conference is also part of the program. In practice-oriented case studies, technological innovations or new distribution and financing strategies for animation projects are presented and discussed. In a second conference part, broadcasters and distributors present their current programming needs and future programming strategies. Networking events in a familiar atmosphere offer the opportunity to continue the discussions and to deepen new contacts in an uncomplicated way.

The Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film (ITFS) and the FMX – Film & Media Exchange, two world-renowned industry events, will take place at the same time as APD. They are characterised by presenting and discussing the entire range of creative forms of expression and technological innovations in the field of animation and related disciplines. Thanks to the special combination of film festival, conference and financing market, the three events have developed into a unique platform in Europe that attracts up to 6,000 industry professionals to Stuttgart every year.

APD is a joint venture of the Stuttgart International Festival of Animated Film (ITFS) and the FMX – Film & Media Exchange. The joint organisers of APD are the Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH, as organiser of ITFS, and the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg GmbH for FMX.

Profil APDs

Die Animation Production Days (APDs) sind der bedeutendste Koproduktions- und Finanzierungsmarkt für Animation in Deutschland. In effizienten Einzelgesprächen bringen sie Koproduktions-, Finanzierungs- und Vertriebspartner für Animationsprojekte zusammen und bieten mit der APDs Konferenz fokussierte Debatten und Vorträge zu aktuellen Herausforderungen der Branche.

Wer kann teilnehmen?

  • Produzent*innen mit einem frischen, innovativen Projekt, für das sie Koproduktionspartner und Investoren suchen
  • Produktionsunternehmen und Studios, die Projekte suchen, an denen sie sich beteiligen können
  • Vertreter*innen von Sendern, SVOD Plattformen, Weltvertrieben und Verlagen und Investoren, die innovative Animationsprojekte suchen
  • Nationale und internationale Förderinstitutionen für Film, Fernsehen und digitale Medien
  • Junge Talente, die sich für das APDs Talent-Programm bewerben möchten

Welche Projekte können eingereicht werden?

  • Animationsprojekte aus den Bereichen Spielfilm, Serie, TV Specials, Game, Mobile Content, Cross- und Transmedia
  • Kurzfilmprojekte, wenn sie in andere Formate weiterentwickelt werden können
  • Hybridformate (Mischung aus Real- und Animationsfilm)
  • im Konzept- und Entwicklungsstadium
  • geeignet und offen für internationale Koproduktionen
  • mit Potenzial für Markenentwicklung

Aus den eingereichten Projekten wählt die Jury ca. 50 Animationsprojekte für die Teilnahme an den APDs aus.

Die APDs sind eine kuratierte Businessplattform für die europäische und internationale Animationsbranche mit jährlich ca. 170 Teilnehmenden. Animationsproduzent*innen aus über 20 Ländern stellen hier ihre Projekte aus den Bereichen Film, TV-Serie, Games und Crossmedia in vorab geplanten One-on-One Meetings potenziellen Koproduktionspartner*innen und Investor*innen vor. Rund 50 Projekte werden jedes Jahr aus einer ständig wachsenden Anzahl von Einreichungen für eine Präsentation bei den APDs ausgewählt, viele davon in einem noch frühen Stadium der Entwicklung. Acht der ausgewählten Projekte werden im Rahmen des APDs Talent Programms ausgewählt, das europäischen Newcomern die Gelegenheit gibt, ihre Projekte in einem professionellen Umfeld zu präsentieren.

In den sorgfältig geplanten Einzelgesprächen können die Produzent*innen das Marktpotenzial ihrer Projekte evaluieren und potenzielle Partner*innen für die Weiterentwicklung finden. Neben Produktionsfirmen und Studios nehmen jährlich rund 60 Vertreter*innen europäischer Sender und SVOD-Anbieter, Weltvertriebe und Förderinstitutionen an den APDs teil. Sie schätzen die Gelegenheit, bei den APDs qualitativ hochwertige und kommerziell vielversprechende sowie besonders innovative Projekte und Talente früh entdecken zu können. Die APDs bieten damit einen exzellenten Ausgangspunkt für die Anbahnung internationaler Koproduktionen.

Teil des Programms ist auch die halbtägige APDs Konferenz. In praxisorientierten Case Studies werden technologische Innovationen oder neue Vertriebs- und Finanzierungsstrategien für Animationsprojekte vorgestellt und diskutiert. In einem zweiten Konferenzteil stellen Sender und Vertriebe ihren aktuellen Programmbedarf und zukünftige Programmstrategien vor. Networking-Veranstaltungen in familiärer Atmosphäre bieten die Gelegenheit die Diskussionen fortführen und neue Kontakte unkompliziert zu vertiefen.

Zeitgleich zu den APDs finden das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart (ITFS) und die FMX – Conference on Animation, Effects, Games and Immersive Media statt, zwei weltweit renommierte Branchen-Veranstaltungen, die sich dadurch auszeichnen, die gesamte Bandbreite kreativer Ausdrucksformen und technologischer Innovationen im Bereich Animation und benachbarter Disziplinen vorzustellen und zu diskutieren. Durch die besondere Kombination aus Filmfestival, Fachkongress und Finanzierungsmarkt haben sich die drei Veranstaltungen zu einer in Europa einmaligen Plattform entwickelt, die jährlich bis zu 6.000 Fachbesucher*innen nach Stuttgart lockt.

Die APDs sind ein Joint Venture des Internationalen Trickfilm-Festivals Stuttgart (ITFS) und der FMX –  Conference on Animation, Effects, Games and Immersive Media. Gemeinsame Veranstalter der APDs sind damit die Film- und Medienfestival gGmbH, als Veranstalterin des ITFS und die Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg GmbH für die FMX.